Academic Council

Academic Council

The MLE International Academic Council is an
advisory committee consisting of 29 leading
professors in different areas of Law and Economics
from Europe and the United States. It was formed
to provide appropriate academic support to the
Law and Economics Foundation.

The members of the MLE International Academic Council meet once every two years for an academic conference about the status and the future directions of research in Law and Economics.

Following the conference, the lectures and papers are published in conference minutes as part of the University of St. Gallen Series in Law and Economics.

We provide you the minutes of the academic conference

please contact 

Lars Weber
Tel. direkt +41 (0) 44 200 29 32

The Academic Council

Carl Baudenbacher President of the EFTA Court Professor of Private, Commercial and Business Law Director Executive M.B.L.-HSG -
Volker Bornschier University of Zurich Professor of Sociology Zurich
Brian R. Cheffins Faculty of Law, University of Cambridge S. J. Berwin Professor of Corporate Law UK
John C. Coffee Adolf A. Berle Professor of Law Columbia Law School USA
Simon Deakin Robert Monks Professor of Corporate Governance Judge Institute of Management Studies University of Cambridge UK
Winand Emons Professor of Economic Theory University of Bern Switzerland
Bruno S. Frey Professor of Economics (Economic policy and non-market economics) Institute for Empirical Research in Economics University of Zurich Switzerland
Ronald J. Gilson Charles J. Meyers Professor of Law and Business Stanford Law School USA, Marc and Eva Stern Professor of Law and Business Columbia Law School USA
Victor Goldberg Thomas Macioce Professor of Law Co-director, Center for Law and Economic Studies Columbia Law School USA
Gérard Hertig Professor of Law and Economics Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich (ETH Zurich) Switzerland
Reinier H. Kraakman Ezra Ripley Thayer Professor of Law Harvard Law School USA
Robin Paul Malloy E.I. White Chair and Distinguished Professor of Law Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Director, Program in Law and Market Economy College of Law, Syracuse University USA
Claude Ménard Professor of Economics University of Paris (Pantheon-Sorbonne) ATOM (Center for Analytical Theory of Organizations and Markets) France
Geoffrey P. Miller William T. and Stuyvesant P. Comfort Professor of Law New York University School of Law USA
Ernst Mohr Professor of Economics Institute for Economy and the Environment (IWÖ-HSG), University of St. Gallen Switzerland
Claus Ott Professor of Law Director, Law Library University of Hamburg Germany
Candido Paz-Ares Professor of Commercial Law Universidad Autónoma de Madrid Spain
Richard A. Posner Judge, United States 7th Circuit Court of Appeals, Senior Lecturer in Law University of Chicago Law School USA
Roberta Romano Allen Duffy/Class of 1960 Professor of Law Yale Law School USA
Daniel L. Rubinfeld Robert L. Bridges Professor of Law and Professor of Economics School of Law, Boalt Hall University of California, Berkeley USA
Hans-Bernd Schäfer Professor of Economics, Director at the Institute of Law and Economics Bucerius Law School Germany
Erich Schanze Professor Emeritus of Law Philipps University Marburg Germany
Kurt Schiltknecht Associate Professor of Economics University of Basel Switzerland
Robert E. Scott Interim Dean and the Alfred McCormack Professor of Law Columbia Law School USA
Thomas S. Ulen Swanlund Chair and Professor of Law University of Illinois College of Law USA
Robert Waldburger Professor of Tax Law Institute of Public Finance and Fiscal Law, Law & Economics (IFF-HSG) University of St. Gallen Switzerland