Foundation Board

Foundation Board

The Board supports the study programs of Bachelor and of Master of Arts in Law and Economics at the University of St. Gallen conceptually. The Board also ensures that additional funds from within the Board and/or from third parties are employed for purposes of financing the study programs and any related research. Finally, it serves as a platform for orientation and discussion with regard to the relationship between the fields of Economics and of Law. 

The Board is composed of nationally and internationally renowned personalities from diverse fields of politics, business and academia.

The Board holds annual meetings during which discussions are held on statutory, business and sponsorship matters and debates are conducted on economic and legal questions. The further development of the Law and Economics approach of the Law and Economics Foundation is inspired and encouraged through presentations and colloquia at the intersection of Law and Economics. 

Members of the Board


  • Mitglieder Bild

    The President of the Board is Prof. Dr. Peter Nobel

List of the Members of the Board

Prof. Dr. Thomas Berndt IFF - HSG - St. Gallen
Dr. Martha Böckenfeld UniCredit VR Walchwil
Urs Bühler HealthBalance AG VRP Niederuzwil
Andreas Burckhardt Basler Versicherung AG VRP Basel
Dr. phil. Hugo Bütler ehem. Chefredaktor NZZ - Zürich
Claudio Cisullo Chain IQ Group AG VRP Zürich
Dr. Eugen David - Lawyer St. Gallen
Roger de Weck Moderator "Republik" General Director Zürich
Dr. Rolf Dörig Swiss Life AG / Adecco VRP Zürich
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Thomas Geiser FAA-HSG - St. Gallen
Bénédict Hentsch Former VRP BBH - Geneva
Prof. Dr. Peter Hettich IFF-HSG - St. Gallen
Prof. Dr. Karl Hofstetter Schindler Holding AG Group General Counsel
Dr. Konrad Hummler M1 AG - St. Gallen
Dr. Silvio Hutterli schochauer ag, Rechtsanwälte Lawyer and solicitor
Christian Katz Saxo Bank - Zürich
Dr. Adrian Künzi Union Bancaire Privée (UBP) SA CEO Zurich, Head of Region Northern Europe Zürich
Peter Kurer Sunrise Communications Group AG VRP Herrliberg
Jorge Paulo Lemann - - Jona
Prof. Dr. Ernst Mohr University of St. Gallen - St. Gallen
Dr. Stefan Mösli Sika AG General Counsel Baar
Prof. Dr. Günter Müller-Stewens IFB-HSG - St. Gallen
Dr. Jörg Reinhardt Novartis International AG Chairman of the Board of Directors Basel
Urs Rohner Credit Suisse Group AG and Credit Suisse AG Chairman
Prof. Dr. Dr. Markus Ruffner NPB Neue Privat Bank AG CEO Zürich
Dr. Thomas Sauber Lustenberger Rechtsanwälte - Zürich
Dr. Jörg Schmid Pooling Solutions AG - Zürich
Dr. h.c. Thomas Schmidheiny Spectrum Value Management Ltd. - Jona
Dr. Uli Sigg Ringier AG Vice President of the Board of Directors Mauensee
Peter Spuhler Stadler Rail AG President of BoD & CEO, former National Council Bussnang
Prof. Dr. Raoul Stocker Deloitte Partner Tax&Legal Deloitte AG Zurich
Dr. Pietro Supino Tamedia AG President of the Board of Directors Zürich
Prof. Dr. med. Thomas Szucs Helsana Chairman and Professor for Health Economics
Dr. Rudolf Tschäni Lenz & Staehelin Rechtsanwälte - Zürich
Marco Villiger MV Sports Consulting AG - Zürich
Prof. Dr. Robert Waldburger IFF-HSG - St. Gallen
Dr. Hans Werder Swisscom Board of Directors Bern
Dr. Thomas Werlen Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan - Zürich
Advocate Dr. Urs Zulauf - Selbständiger Berater in Finanzmarktregulierung, -aufsicht und -verfahren Bern